Fancy a closer look?
Introductory offer: 2 back issues for just £7, down from £5 each,
and that includes p+p: £1.60 (saving £3) –
because reading magazines helps judge the best match with your work
in order to maximize publication opportunities.

Information is posted virtually every day,
regardless of what the date counter says, unless –
still waiting for the Summer to get started…


Subs: £18/4 pa. Single issue: £5, all including p+p

NB, cheques payable to me, not to ORBIS.

And yes, Paypal button still needs sorting:
please use Contact Form or post request. 

Also, via LinkedIn or Facebook:

And the Poetry Library:


Orbis 176, Summer

£5 (Overseas: £9/€12/$16); Subs: £17/4 pa (Overseas: £35/€42/$58)

Front cover artwork: ‘Horizon’ by Peter Leslie Wilks
back cover, detail from image:

Still waiting for the sunshine? Maybe this issue will brighten things up
Helen Ashley and some Borrowed Light, whether you join
Grahaeme Barrasford Young, Playing, 
Lorna Sherry up in Edinburgh,
Nicki Griffin, In Carnadoe Waters, or go with Juli Jana on a Bus Ride
Further still: Alec Taylor’s Space Ilimad. And humming along to
Lara’s Theme (John Arnold), you could enjoy Miraculous Kashgar,
Story told by Li Suo and Liang Yujing, and Watching The Invisible Man
with Patrick Deeley. But fine weather or not, unlike Hilaire, (I make no) Apology,
because to experience anything fully,as
Bibhu Padhi tells us,
what’s needed is:
Touch, Taste, and Time
all of which you can have with Orbis

Featured Poet

Peter De Ville:
Amoxy and Metro face the Dragon; The Blue Scarf; Protest and Intervention

Poems from: Daniel Roy Connelly: Austerity drives;
Katherine Crocker: Nakwetikyawa’s Well;
Alex Josephy: Misericordia:
Mary O’Donnell: On Reading My Mother’s Sorrow Diary;
Terry Trowbridge: The Raven Puppet; Patricia Walsh: Bruscar

Prose from: Phil Dunkerley: As Red as Rubies;
Oz Hardwick: The Drifter’s Song;
Val Williamson:

Past Master: Sean Howard on Charles Sorley

Reviews: Maria Isakova Bennett, Philip Dunkerley, David Harmer,
D. A. Prince, 
David Troman and Noel Williams

Orbis 176 contributors also include:

Gary Beck; Jane Blanchard; C M Buckland; Lucinda Carey;
Jim Conwell; 
Stella Davis; Judith Dimond; Frances Galleymore;
Chris Hardy; Ashleigh John; 
Gloria Keeley; Richard Livermore;
Tim Love; Terry Quinn; Chelsea Ruxer;
Caroline Smith; Jean Taylor; F. J. Williams

October 31

# Lancashire Authors Association

Flash Fiction Open Competition

Sponsored by Langtec Ltd.Lancashire

Read the rest of this entry »


September 12
Live Canon 2016 International Poetry Competition

Read the rest of this entry »

Mz12 page NC16 ad for Orbis









September 19
Mslexia Children’s Novel Competition 2016

Read the rest of this entry »

September 5
# @
Friends of Coleridge National Poetry Competition
was August 31
Celebrating the publication of Kubla Khan in 1816
Theme: ‘Imagined Worlds’

August 24

Torbay Open Poetry Competition

The Organiser, 6 The Mount, Brixham, South Devon TQ5 8QY UK

September 5

The Friends of Coleridge National Poetry Competition

Read the rest of this entry »

Layout 1

August 31


Read the rest of this entry »

August 10

Chorley & District Writers’ Circle Short Story Competition 2016

Read the rest of this entry »

July 1 – August 21

The Two Gentlemen of Verona

Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre


Bit of a misnomer since this tale reveals that of the two friends, Valentine may be a gentleman; Proteus decidely is not. It’s something of a tangled

Read the rest of this entry »

« Older entries